Watching as You Love

Watching as you love,

clear  water love,

your quiet gaze,

as your children,

grown and soaring,

bathe in its buoyant warmth.

 

Seeing that I

don’t know that

way of loving.

For grief has always

determined love’s aim:

love means loss.

 

I see now,

deeper than ever,

I have the chance

to love,

with grief illuminating,

not directing,

honoring all whom I have

loved and lost.

 

I already know

how to love,

with a fire

clear and warm and true.

 

But dear grief,

it’s time

to let me go.

IMG_4978

 

Leave a Reply

