Remember It This Way

I don’t remember

if I ever really leaped from

the garage roof,

holding fast

to an open umbrella,

believing.

 

Today,

very first day

of this new year,

I’m going to remember it

this way:

 

That I leaped,

open umbrella in one hand,

crossed fingers in the other,

that wind,

fresh from the Hudson River,

lifted me up,

that I floated,

soft and smooth

for just a few seconds,

and when I landed,

there were children,

my friends,

clapping and smiling and shouting,

believing

in mary poppins,

angels,

and miracles,

just

like

I

did.

IMG_0295

Leave a Reply

