Settle Back

Settle back,

calm down,

let it go,

relax.

 

If the shoe fits,

wear it.

 

But it doesn’t,

and I can’t relax,

when the hungry hounds 

of invasive species,

are nipping

at my heels,

and if I had a pair of shoes,

that fit,

and that could help me,

relax,

then surely,

I’d put them on,

like bedroom slippers,

and maybe a robe,

a mug of hot chocolate,

a book,

a fire,

all things tended,

day’s end.

 

I’m ready for this:

the night is on,

settle back,

calm down,

let it go,

relax.

IMG_4207

 

 

Leave a Reply

